January 7, 2020

Nominations now open for 2020 ATHENA Award

For more than 25 years, we have honored women leaders in our business community through the ATHENA Award. Established internationally in 1982, the award has recognized more than 7,000 leaders worldwide. Each year, we celebrate an outstanding businesswoman who inspires others through her professional accomplishments, mentorship of others, and community service.

In accordance with ATHENA International judging protocol, nominees are put forth by their peers and judged on a points system by a panel of past ATHENA recipients. Nominations for 2020 are open through Thursday, Feb. 27 at 5 p.m. Download a nomination form here.

All nominees and the ATHENA Leadership Award recipient will be honored at our annual ATHENA Award Luncheon on April 27 at The Broadmoor. The event is open to the public.

Chamber & EDC ATHENA Award recipients

2019: Karla Grazier
2018: Jan Weiland
2017: Alicia McConnell
2016: Cathy Robbins
2015: Lynne Telford
2014: Jan Martin
2013: Sandi Yukman
2012: Renee Zentz
2011: Nancy Lewis
2010: Cindy Fowler
2009: Colette Berge
2008: Martha Barton
2007: Mary Lou Makepeace
2006: CJ Moore
2005: Judy Cara
2004: Patsy Buchwald
2003: Pam Shockley-Zalabak
2002: Barbara Winter
2001: Shirley Stewart
2000: Mary Ellen McNally
1999: Elizabeth Youngquist
1998: Lea Roads
1997: Marijane Paulsen
1996: Brenda Smith
1995: Cari Shaffer
1994: Mary Shields