January 9, 2018

Nominate a business leader for the 2018 ATHENA Award

Professional excellence. Leadership. Service to community. These qualities and more help shape the selection of the recipient of the annual ATHENA Leadership Award presented by the Colorado Springs Chamber & EDC. Nominations for the 2018 award are now open.

For 23 years, the Chamber & EDC has presented the ATHENA Leadership Award as part of our effort to support, honor and develop women leaders in our business community.  The award goes to an outstanding businesswoman who inspires others through her business accomplishments, mentorship of others, and community service. The award was established internationally in 1982 and has recognized more than 7,000 leaders worldwide.

In accordance with ATHENA International judging protocol, nominees are put forth by their peers and judged on a points system by a panel of past ATHENA recipients. Nominations for 2018 are being accepted through Feb. 5 at 5 p.m. To apply or for more information, click here.

All nominees and the ATHENA Leadership Award recipient will be honored at the annual Chamber & EDC ATHENA Award Luncheon, held this year on April 5 at The Antlers Hotel. The event is open to the public.

Chamber & EDC ATHENA Award recipients

2017: Alicia McConnell
2016: Cathy Robbins
2015: Lynne Telford
2014: Jan Martin
2013: Sandi Yukman
2012: Renee Zentz
2011: Nancy Lewis
2010: Cindy Fowler
2009: Colette Berge
2008: Martha Barton
2007:Mary Lou Makepeace
2006: CJ Moore
2005: Judy Cara
2004: Patsy Buchwald
2003: Pam Shockley-Zalabak
2002: Barbara Winter
2001: Shirley Stewart
2000: Mary Ellen McNally
1999: Elizabeth Youngquist
1998: Lea Roads
1997: Marijane Paulsen
1996: Brenda Smith
1995: Cari Shaffer
1994: Mary Shields