August 22, 2017

Nominate a business leader or company for the 2017 Chamber & EDC Awards

31003971 - night view of colorado springs downtown at the night time

Each year, the Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce & EDC recognizes outstanding leadership and innovation in business with its Business Citizen of the Year and Industry Awards. Nominations for all categories are being accepted now through Sept. 22, 2017.

Four awards are presented, and they include:

Business Citizen of the Year

This award recognizes a business individual who contributes to the economic stability of the Colorado Springs area, is involved in the betterment of this community through active civic participation, and has demonstrated willingness to assist in business and community projects, among other factors. Nominees should include business leaders who advocate for our community and embody the spirit of collaboration.

Recent honorees include Pamela Shockley-Zalabak (2016), Tom Neppl (2015) and Chuck Murphy (2014). Please see below for a complete list of past award recipients.

Industry Awards

There are three Industry Awards categories:

  • Company of the Year is awarded to a business that has made a significant impact on its industry, performed extraordinary work on a project or continuing program, and is a leader in employee satisfaction and community engagement.
  • New Business of the Year goes to a company that established within the last year and is based on its success-to-date in terms or orders, sales, and/or revenues.
  • Community Investment of the Year is awarded to the company that has made the biggest investment in the community in terms of assets purchased (based on the percentage growth from the beginning of the year.

To apply for the Chamber & EDC awards:

The Chamber & EDC will present the awards and celebrate its 125th anniversary at its Annual Gala, which will be held Saturday, Nov. 4 at The Broadmoor. Long considered one of the must-attend events for businesses in the Colorado Springs area, the Annual Gala features live entertainment and music, and is open to the public.

Past Business Citizen of the Year award recipients

  • Pamela Shockley-Zalabak (2016)
  • Tom Neppl (2015)
  • Chuck Murphy (2014)
  • Tony Fagnant (2013)
  • David Jenkins (2011)
  • Cari Shaffer (2010)
  • Thayer Tutt (2009)
  • Jim Johnson (2008)
  • Dave Palenchar (2007)
  • Steve Bigari (2006)
  • Joel Midkiff (2005)
  • Rick O’Connell (2004)
  • Brenda Smith (2003)
  • Doug Stimple (2002)
  • Laura Muir (2001)
  • Robert Scott (2000)
  • Joseph Woodford, Jr. (1999)
  • Lou Mellini (1998)
  • Peter Susemihl (1997)
  • Gary Loo (1996)
  • David Sunderland (1995)
  • Karl Flemke (1994)
  • C. Lewis Christensen (1993)
  • Stephen G. Bach (1992)
  • William J. Hybl (1991)
  • Sr. Myra James Bradley (1990)
  • Harold U. Littrell (1989)
  • Nechie Hall (1988)
  • A. Marvin Strait (1987)
  • Dusty Loo (1986)
  • Bruce E. Shepard (1985)
  • Ryer Hitchcock (1984)
  • Harlan Ochs (1983)
  • John W. Armstrong (1982)
  • Joseph A. Reich, Sr. (1981)
  • William Thayer Tutt (1980)
  • Charles C. Brown (1979)
  • Stephen M. Schuck (1978)
  • Russell T. Tutt (1977)
  • Thomas L. Pelican (1976)
  • T. Eugene McCleary (1975)